Herewith a letter received from Dianne Smith, SAEF Gauteng President, announcing the elected Gauteng Regional Council Committees, elected officials of the Gauteng Equestrian Federation and the National elected Gauteng officials of the SAEF.

Gauteng Equestrian Federation

Dear Members,


On Saturday the 9th August at SASCOC’s premises in Houghton the SAEF held their first elections under the new structure prescribed by SASCOC. Mr Mubarak Mohamed was present to act as electoral officer and to monitor the process which was conducted by a show of hands for the sake of transparency.

Before the election process for Provincial and National chairs were conducted, a process was done to elect Regional elected officials which elections was done by the various clubs in each Region.

The Gauteng regional council committees are as follows.


Angie Meredith (President)

Matthew Smith (Vice President)

Clem Dos Santos (Treasurer) and

Siobhan Records (Secretary)


Sheleph Burger (President)

Alan Browne (Vice President)

Vanessa Chaplog (Treasurer) and

Moira Ferreira (Secretary)


Nicola Sime-Riley (President)

Gill Shaw (Vice president)

TBA (Treasurer) and

Retha Lange (Secretary)

West Rand

Carol Pickering (Will be replaced as she is provincial treasurer)

Cornel Oberholzer (Vice President)

TBA (Treasurer) and

Sonell van Wyk (Secretary)


Belinda Martin (President)

Francois Du Toit (Vice President)

Paul Cowan (Treasurer) and

Montanique Wilson (Secretary)


The five elected Regional Presidents together with the Gauteng SANESA President and Gauteng Athletes Commission Chairperson make up the members the council of the Gauteng Equestrian Federation.

On the 9th August the following people were elected as the elected officials of the Gauteng Equestrian Federation:

Dianne Smith (President)

Rika Van Vuuren (Vice President)

Carol Pickering (Treasurer)

Sue Cook (Secretary)


The following people were elected as the National elected officials of the SAEF:

Dewald Viljoen (President)

Dineo Molomo (Vice President)

Tana Martini (Treasurer)

The National Council is made up of the 9 Presidents of the Nine Provinces, the National Representative of SANESA and the National Chairperson of the Athletes Commission.

Contact details to follow shortly.

The Discipline Associations will become technical committees but their final roles will be finalised with time. In the interim the decision was made that the current elected officials of the Discipline Associations will proceed to act as the various representatives of the technical committees at Regional, Provincial and National level and will still ensure that the various sporting codes’ competitions still proceed as they are supposed to.

The elections are over and we now have the huge task of keeping the sport running smoothly across all the disciplines as well as making sure that a structure is put in place which is more user-friendly and accessible for all members.

Please approach your regional committee if you need assistance or have problems, if assistance is not received within a satisfactory period, please approach your provincial committee. Again if assistance is not received the next step is National. SASCOC  has requested that you do not communicate with them or the Sports Councils except through the SAEF. The same goes for the FEI.

As the changes to improve our sport is gradually introduced, we will keep you informed.

Kind Regards

Dianne Smith

SAEF Gauteng President

GEF footer